International Order & Conflict

Global Economic Governance and its Importance for Security and Justice


Humanity faces a growing range of challenges – from political violence and environmental decay to cyber-insecurity and cross-border economic shocks – with global security and justice implications that need urgent attention but far exceed state and global institutional capacities. To overcome this capacity deficit, The Hague Institute for Global Justice and The Stimson Center have convened a Commission on Global Security, Justice, and Governance, which brings together a select group of eminent statespersons and public intellectuals to craft reform recommendations inadvance of the 70th Anniversary Summit of the United Nations in September 2015.

WHAT: Presentation of a new Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung International Policy Analysis paper by Columbia University Professor José Antonio Ocampo, author and Commission member.

FOLLOW@HagueInstitute and @StimsonCenter on Twitter for event news.
Sign up for e-mail updates on the Commission’s work on their website launching in December:
Welcoming remarks by:

Ellen Laipson, President and CEO, The Stimson Center
Dr. Abiodun Williams, President, The Hague Institute for Global Justice
Michèle Auga, Executive Director, Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung New York Office


José Antonio Ocampo, currently Professor of Professional Practice at the School of International and Public Affairs (SIPA) and Fellow with the Committee on Global Thought at Columbia University, whose record of public service – encompassing tenure as Under-Secretary General for Economic and Social Affairs at the United Nations, Executive Secretary for the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC), as well as Minister of Finance and Central Bank Chairman for Colombia – makes him a leading voice on the Commission for articulating the importance of global economic and social governance to achieve greater global security and justice.

Other members of the Commission:
Co-Chairs: Madeleine Albright (former U.S. Secretary of State) and Ibrahim Gambari (former Foreign Minister of Nigeria)
Members of the Commission: Haifa Al Kaylani (Founder Chairman of The Arab International Women’s Forum); Celso Amorim (Minister of Defense and former Minister of Foreign Relations of Brazil); Lloyd Axworthy (former Foreign Minister of Canada); Igor Ivanov (former Foreign Minister of Russian Federation); Yoriko Kawaguchi (former Foreign and Environment Minister of Japan); Jane Holl Lute (former U.S. Deputy Secretary of Homeland Security and UN Assistant Secretary-General for Field Support); Asha-Rose Migiro (Foreign Minister of Tanzania and former UN Deputy Secretary-General); José Antonio Ocampo (former Finance Minister of Colombia and UN Under-Secretary-General for Economic and Social Affairs); Shyam Saran (former Foreign Secretary and Chief Climate Change Negotiator of India); Michael Schaefer (BMW Foundation Chairman and former German Ambassador to China); Jozias van Aartsen (former Foreign Minister of The Netherlands and Mayor of The Hague); and Erna Witoelar (founder of the Indonesian Environmental Forum and former Minister of Human Settlements and Regional Development)

Ex-Officio Members: Ellen Laipson (President, The Stimson Center) and Abiodun Williams (President, The Hague Institute for Global Justice)

View video below or here.

Part of the Peacekeeping Reform Project
Choose Your Subscription Topics
* indicates required
I'm interested in...
38 North: News and Analysis on North Korea
South Asian Voices